Libertarian Party of Iowa

Minutes of the
Executive Committee Meeting
Saturday, May 10, 1997
Bonanza Steak House
NE 14th St., Des Moines, IA

       Attending the meeting were: Richard Kruse (EC), Carl Olsen (EC), Mark Hagerman (EC), John Hartog (EC), Randy Herod (EC), Tim Hird (EC), David Davis, Roger Fritz, Jeff Livingston, and Lois Kennis.

      Tim Hird reported that we have approximately $1500 in our treasury, and projected that we would have approximately $2000 in our treasury by the time we hold our state convention in October.  It was decided that we would spend approximately $600 on speakers.

      It was decided that the state convention will be held on Sunday, October 12, 1997, on the campus of the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa, from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

      Preliminary announcement of candidates were as follows: Carl Olsen will run for mayor of Des Moines in the November 1997 election.  Carl Olsen will run for Attorney General in the November 1998 election.  Al Shoeman will run for the 24th Iowa House district (currently held by Jenkins) in the 1998 election.  David Davis will run for the 31st Senate district (currently held by Hammond) in the 1998 election.  Mark Hagerman will run for the 72nd Iowa House district (currently held by Holveck) in the 1998 election.

      It was discussed whether the Libertarian Party of Iowa should endorse Mark Kennis (an independent) for governor of Iowa in the November 1998 election.  It was determined that the bylaws allow the state party to endorse anyone it chooses, but does not allow candidates to run as Libertarians unless they are members of the state party.  Lois Kennis said that her husband had collected approximately 400 signatures of the 1500 needed to qualify for the state ballot in 1998.  A copy of the Kennis platform is attached to these minutes.

      Richard Kruse gave a brief description of the case of Lori Berenson, a 26-year old journalist and human rights activist convicted by a secret military tribunal in Peru on charges of being a terrorist.

      Randy Herod gave a report on Success '97, and event which he attended in Washington, DC, on behalf of our state party.

      Richard Kruse nominated Roger Fritz and David Davis to be new members of the executive committe.  The nomination was seconded by Randy Herod.  Fritz and Davis were both approved by a voice vote.

      Richard Kruse reported that we are on the verge of having 170 national and state combined members in Iowa.

      The next executive committee meeting was scheduled for Noon on Saturday, July 12, 1997, at the Bonanza Steak House, NE 14th St., Des Moines, IA.

      Carl E. Olsen, Secretary