Schaffer Online Library of Drug Policy Sign the Resolution for a Federal Commission on Drug Policy


Contents | Feedback | Search | DRCNet Home Page | Join DRCNet

DRCNet Library | Schaffer Library | Major Studies | The Facts About Drug Abuse



The Facts About Drug Abuse

The Drug Abuse Council, 1980

Board of Directors of the Drug Abuse Council

Bethuel M. Webster, Chairman

Webster & Sheffield

New York, N.Y.

Daniel X. Freedman, M.D., Vice-Chairman

Professor and Chairman

Department of Psychiatry

University of Chicago

Chicago, Illinois

Thomas E. Bryant, M.D., J.D., President

Washington, D.C.

Arnalia V. Betanzos

President, Wildcat Service Corporation

New York, N.Y.

formerly Member New York City Housing Authority

Albert H. Bowker, Ph.D.

Chancellor, University of California at Berkeley

Berkeley, California

William A. Darity, Ph.D.

Dean, School of Health Sciences

University of Massachusetts

Amherst, Mass.

William W. Grant


Denver, Colorado

Boisfeuillet Jones

President, Emily & Ernest Woodruff Foundation

Atlanta, Georgia

J. Henry Smith

Retired Chairman

Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States New York, N.Y.

Dale Tooley

District Attorney

Denver, Colorado

Eddie N. Williams

President, joint Center for Political Studies

Washington, D.C.

Former Directors

William R. Hewlett (1972-1977)

President, Hewlett-Packard Company

Palo Alto, California

Arabella Martinez (1972-1977)

Assistant Secretary for Human Development/HEW

Washington, D.C.

formerly Director, Spanish-Speaking Unity Council

Oakland, California

Eleanor Holmes Norton (1972-1977)

Chairman, Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Washington, D.C.

formerly Chairman, New York City Commission on Human Rights

Herbert Sturz (1972-1978)

Criminal justice Coordinator

New York, N.Y.

formerly Director, Vera Institute of justice

New York, N.Y.


The individuals cited on the title page of each of the staff report chapters were a major source of assistance to the authors in the preparation of those chapters. In addition, the authors collectively wish to acknowledge their special gratitude to Jean R. Johnson for her unstinting efforts in the preparation of this book, to Margo C. Backas and Paul Danaceau for their assistance in editing, and to Norman E. Zinberg, Rayburn Hesse, Sibyl Cline Halper, Carl Akins, David E. Smith, Robert Newman, James M. Duke, and Mary Ann Orlando who reviewed the manuscripts in their several drafts. Also deserving of grateful mention are the efforts of Marie P. Thompson, Jane Silver, William P. Vasquez, and William J. Haney.

The Contributors

Thomas E. Bryant holds both a medical and a law degree from Emory University in Atlanta. Since 1971, he has served as President of the Drug Abuse Council. During 1977 and 1978 he shared those responsibilities with his service as Chairman of the President's Commission on Mental Health. Prior to the Drug Abuse Council, Dr. Bryant headed the Health Affairs Office of the Office of Economic Opportunity. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and has served as a member of the President's Committee on -Mental -Retardation, the American Medical Association's Committee on Health Care for the Poor, the Health Task Force of HEW, and the American Bar Association's Commission on Mental Disabilities and as Chairman of the Interagency Committee on Emergency Food and Medical Service. Dr. Bryant is currently Chairman of the Public Committee for Mental Health.

Erik J. Meyers is a graduate of the Fordham School of Law and Georgetown University's School of Foreign Service. Since 1974 he has been legal counsel and a policy analyst for the Drug Abuse Council. He is a member of the New York and District of Columbia Bar Associations and has served as legal advisor to the Public Committee for Mental Health and the National Association for City Drug Coordination.

Peter B. Goldberg, a graduate of the State University of New York at Albany, has been a senior policy analyst for the Drug Abuse Council since 1971. One of the original staff authors of Dealing with Drug Abuse, Mr. Goldberg has pursued postgraduate work in urban planning at George Washington University. He helped to organize the National Association for City Drug Coordination and is Chairman of its National Advisory Committee and a member of the Editorial Board of Urban Concerns magazine. He is currently Special Assistant to the Director of the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.

John R. Pekkanen, a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University in 1970-71 and a Drug Abuse Council Fellow in 1974-75, has written several nonfiction works on drug, health, and criminal justice topics. Among his recent works are The Best Doctors in the U.S. (Seaview Books), Victims (Dial Press), and The American Connection (Follet Publishing Co.). Mr. Pekkanen has written numerous articles for Life magazine, Human Behavior, The New Republic, Atlantic Monthly, Town and Country, and is a former bureau chief for Life magazine. He is presently a freelance writer in Washington, D.C.

David C. Lewis is a graduate of Brown University and the Harvard Medical School. He has been a Senior Fellow at the Harvard Laboratory of Community Psychiatry and a Sloan Foundation Fellow at Harvard Medical School. He has served as Chairman of the Mayor's Coordinating Council on Drug Abuse of the City of Boston since 1972 as well as serving on the National League of Cities Task Force on Drug Abuse, National Institute on Drug Abuse's Research Review Committee and the National Association for City Drug Coordination (founding chairperson). Dr. Lewis is currently Associate Professor of Medicine and Donald G. Miller Distinguished Scholar in Alcoholism Studies at Brown University, Director of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse in the Brown University Program in Medicine, Director of the Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Division at Roger Williams General Hospital in Providence, Rhode Island, and former Medical Director of the Washingtonian Center for Addictions in Boston. He has authored numerous articles on alcohol and drug abuse issues in professional journals.

John C. Sessler is a graduate of Rutgers University and the University of Southern California and holds a doctorate in physics from Georgetown University. He has been a senior program analyst for evaluation and survey projects for the Drug Abuse Council from 1972 to 1978. Prior to his work at the Council, Dr. Sessler worked for the Center for Naval Analysis. He has authored several technical articles on a variety of scientific topics, co-authored several Drug Abuse Council publications, and contributed a chapter to The Evaluation of Social Programs (Sage Publications). He is currently Evaluation Coordinator for the Public Health Service of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Robert R. Carr is presently Executive Director of The Fund for Constitutional Government. He has thirteen years experience in Washington as Congressional aide, public policy analyst, political organizer, and writer. Employed since 1973 as the Senior Program Officer at the Drug Abuse Council, he was involved in drug law reform through testimony before state legislatures, television and radio appearances, and the publication of several articles in popular journals. In 1978, he was appointed to the drug use/misuse task panel of the President's Commission on Mental Health.

Contents | Feedback | Search | DRCNet Home Page | Join DRCNet

DRCNet Library | Schaffer Library | Major Studies | The Facts About Drug Abuse